Jan Pentland Prize



The prestigious Jan Pentland Prize is awarded each year. The Prize recognises the work of an individual, group or organisation in the community sector, focussing on the financial or consumer rights of disadvantaged people in Australia. This includes work in the areas of financial counselling, financial inclusion, and consumer credit law.  There is a particular focus on the effective integration of casework with campaigning for broader change.

The Prize is for $1,000 and is funded by Financial Counselling Australia. 

The Prize is managed by Financial Counselling Australia rather than the Jan Pentland Foundation. However, information about the prize is on the Foundation’s website as that is the most logical place to find it.

Each year, FCA convenes a committee to choose the prize winner. This includes the Chair of FCA and two persons independent of the sector, but with knowledge of it.

Prize Criteria

Nominations could focus on one specific activity or achievement, or on a contribution over an extended period, and should specifically address at least one of the following criteria:

  • Outstanding achievement in financial counselling and/or consumer advocacy;

  • Achievement in undertaking law reform, campaign work, community development, and/or community education.

The Committee considering the nominations also considers the extent to which nominees reflect the values of the sector as set out in the Australian Financial Counselling Code of Ethical Practice, including respect, professionalism and social justice.


If someone you know has contributed significantly to the financial counselling sector in the past year, please nominate that special person by filling out this form. 


It's a huge honour to be nominated. You'll make that person's day.

Nominations close Monday 29 March 2021.

2019 Winners

Maria Hatch and Maria Good

Past Winners

Show More

2011 Fran Manuela

2010 Jillian Fletcher

© Jan Pentland Foundation | phone: +61 3 8554 6979 | email The Jan Pentland Foundation